What are the 2 lungs called?

The pleura is made up of 2 layers: inner (visceral) pleura – the layer next to the lung. outer (parietal) pleura – the layer that lines the chest wall.

How many layers does the lungs have?

The pleura includes two thin layers of tissue that protect and cushion the lungs. The inner layer (visceral pleura) wraps around the lungs and is stuck so tightly to the lungs that it cannot be peeled off. The outer layer (parietal pleura) lines the inside of the chest wall.

What are the sections of the lungs called?

Each lung is composed of smaller units called lobes. Fissures separate these lobes from each other. The right lung consists of three lobes: the superior, middle, and inferior lobes. The left lung consists of two lobes: the superior and inferior lobes.

What are the 5 lobes of the lungs?

The lung consists of five lobes. The left lung has a superior and inferior lobe, while the right lung has superior, middle, and inferior lobes. Thin walls of tissue called fissures separate the different lobes. Only the right lung has a middle lobe.

What is the correct order of the respiratory system?

The respiratory system includes the nose, mouth, throat, voice box, windpipe, and lungs.

image-What are the 2 lungs called?
image-What are the 2 lungs called?

What are the parts of the lungs and their functions?

The trachea (windpipe) conducts inhaled air into the lungs through its tubular branches, called bronchi. The bronchi then divide into smaller and smaller branches (bronchioles), finally becoming microscopic. The bronchioles eventually end in clusters of microscopic air sacs called alveoli.Jun 21, 2021


What is alveolar sac?

(al-VEE-oh-ly) Tiny air sacs at the end of the bronchioles (tiny branches of air tubes in the lungs). The alveoli are where the lungs and the blood exchange oxygen and carbon dioxide during the process of breathing in and breathing out.


Which lung has 2 lobes?

The left lung consists of two lobes: the left upper lobe (LUL) and the left lower lobe (LLL). The right lobe is divided by an oblique and horizontal fissure, where the horizontal fissure divides the upper and middle lobe, and the oblique fissure divides the middle and lower lobes.Jul 31, 2021


What are the lung bases?

Anatomically, the lung bases refer literally to the inferior concave surfaces of the lungs which directly contact the hemidiaphragms. However many radiologists, and other clinicians, use the term more generally to refer to the basal region of the lung, which like the lower zones, has no formal definition.Apr 29, 2021


What is the bronchus?

(BRON-kus) A large airway that leads from the trachea (windpipe) to a lung. The plural of bronchus is bronchi. Enlarge. Anatomy of the respiratory system, showing the trachea and both lungs and their lobes and airways.


What is Subpleural?

Medical Definition of subpleural

: situated or occurring between the pleura and the body wall.


What are the 3 main structures that penetrate the hilum?

Structures entering the hilum include the bronchus, the pulmonary artery, the pulmonary veins, the bronchial arteries and veins, the pulmonary nerve plexuses, and lymphatic vessels.


What are the two sections of the respiratory system?

The respiratory tract is divided into two main parts: the upper respiratory tract, consisting of the nose, nasal cavity and the pharynx; and the lower respiratory tract, consisting of the larynx, trachea, bronchi and the lungs.

Share this Post: